Confessions of a mom with Kid battaling Asthma

My tween has asthma. When she was 3…What I thought was the longest cold ever….turned out to be asthma.

I must admit… I’m terrified of this Asthma thing.

According to the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (AAAA) 1 in 10 kids have asthma. In 2025 the number of people suffering from Asthma worldwide will grow to 100 MILLION folks. WHOA!

See….Here it is 3:10 am and  I’m too wired to go back to sleep. I’m here on the edge of my bet listening for that familiar consistent cough from her bedroom.  I’m on alert! Wondering if I made the right decision to treat her asthma attack at home with the tools the doctor gave us. Praying Mr Ivory (our cute little polar bear humidifier) helps ease some discomfort for the rest of the night. I’m terrified.

And although I have the set up to conquer pretty much any attack I still feel uneasy. I’m still on alert. I’m still 2 seconds from grabbing my keys and making a trip to the hospital for the ER doctors to tell me she’s fine.

It’s 3:30 am now … that’s 20 minutes with no cough. not tossing in her bed (I know because it squeaks…lol) So our double dose of Albuterol treatments must have worked  or maybe the propping her up must have work or maybe it was Mr. Ivory….Well- High five Mr. Ivory!

I just realized I’ve been holding my breath… Deep sigh of relief! Yeah, this asthma thing is scary but I’m a mom armed with the best pediatrician, the cutest humidifier and a world of knowledge…We’re gonna beat this thing–together!!! Right Mr. Ivory?!!!

Sunpentown Polar Bear Ultrasonic Humidifier SU-2031

*Good night my luvs

Leave a Reply

